Amazon Names Newark High School Teacher Among 10 Computer Science Educators with Teacher of the Year Award

"We celebrate their tireless efforts to increase access to technology and computer literacy in their classrooms and beyond," Reinoso said. 

Recipients were chosen based on a variety of criteria, including a commitment to promoting diversity and inclusion within computer science education, a recommendation from a school administrator, and compelling, personal anecdotes about their schools and students. Scholarship America reviewed applications from thousands of eligible applicants and selected the ten award recipients.

Each of the award-winning teachers received a prize package valued at more than $30,000, which includes $25,000 to expand computer science and/or robotics education at their respective schools, as well as a $5,000 cash award for each educator to celebrate their exemplary work with students.

Amazon Future Engineer is a childhood-to-career computer science education program intended to inspire and educate millions of students globally, including hundreds of thousands of students in the U.S. each year. Students explore computer science through school curriculum and project-based learning, using code to make music, program robots, and solve problems.

Amazon Future Engineer also awards 100 students each year with four-year, $40,000 scholarships and paid internships at Amazon. Now in its second year, the Amazon Future Engineer Teacher of the Year Award program is part of Amazon's commitment to STEM and computer science education.

Amazon has a goal to reach 1.6 million students from historically underrepresented communities globally through Amazon Future Engineer with real-world-inspired virtual and hands-on computer science project learning. The program is currently available in the U.S., U.K., France and Canada.

The following educators were also honored as this year's recipients:

  • Mark Ahrens, Texas High School, Texarkana, Texas
  • Cesar Barreto, Explorations Academy, Bronx, New York
  • Sheena Birgans-Wright, Prairie-Hills Junior High School, Markham, Illinois
  • Melissa Collins, John P. Freeman Optional School, Memphis, Tennessee
  • Christopher Hatten, KIPP Central City Academy, New Orleans, Louisiana
  • Lorand Incze, Alisal High School, Salinas, California
  • Terry Laesser, Melvindale High School, Melvindale, Michigan
  • Aris Pangilinan, Cardozo Education Campus, Washington, D.C.
  • Michelle Pierce, Mallard Creek STEM Academy, Charlotte, North Carolina
Do you like this post?

Showing 1 reaction

published this page in News and Politics 2021-06-22 03:14:46 -0700